Cinnamon Toast Crunch Churros is a Workout

I was doing my best to pace myself with trying cereals, since I’m only one person. However, after numerous people tagged me on Facebook and Twitter, asking me if I have tried Cinnamon Toast Crunch Churros, I knew I had to give the people what they wanted… a somewhat serious review with some colorful comparisons and analogies. Well, I just finished a bowl and I’m here to tell you my thoughts. Let’s dig in.

Aesthetics

I’ll admit that the box of Cinnamon Toast Crunch Churros is certainly eye catching with its vibrant purple box, combined with the familiar Cinnamon Toast Crunch brand colors of purple, blue, red and green. Now, getting to the cereal itself, each piece certainly resembles a mini churro with a light dusting of cinnamon and sugar. On packaging and cereal itself, I think General Mills did a solid job.

Snackability 

Cinnamon Toast Crunch Churros is good for snacking, but be mindful that the cereal is pretty dense and crunchy, so small children might struggle with eating this cereal dry or in milk. People complain about Cap’n Crunch being rough, I’d say Churros cereal is up there. It’s not as roof-of-your-mouth scraping like trying to remove an old popcorn ceiling, but it’s rough nonetheless. Would it be my first choice of cereal to throw in a baggie and eat on my way to work, because I’m an adult who sucks at taking time to make an adequate breakfast? No. However, it would work in a pinch.

Structural Integrity

Remember above where I said the cereal is dense and crunchy? This Churros cereal is nothing like a typical churro that is fluffy, almost flaky even. This Churros cereal is far more compact, which is good if it’s sitting in milk, because it will take longer to become soggy. However, at times I felt like I was eating little, round logs or retaining wall blocks for a gingerbread house, instead of a nice, hollow, crispy churro.

Cereal Concept

When I first heard about Cinnamon Toast Crunch Churros I thought, “how much different tasting can it be?” While I give credit for appealing to our love of churros, the cereal was basically the same as Cinnamon Toast Crunch. It’s CT Crunch if you could roll the classic square piece of cereal like an Amigo’s crisp meat burrito and called it a churro. Side note, who’s all hungry for Amigo’s now?

Flavor

The flavor of Cinnamon Toast Crunch Churros should be a familiar one if you like regular CT Crunch. Cinnamon and sugar are always good flavors in my opinion, but in moderation. So is this Churros cereal just a money grab to gain eyeballs and mouths on this cereal? Yes. If anything, the shape of the Churros cereal seemed to allow runoff of the cinnamon and sugar dusting. As I took each bite, especially after it had been in the milk for a little bit, I thought about adding more cinnamon and sugar myself.

Final Thoughts

Cinnamon Toast Crunch Churros is a fun cereal in name, but otherwise it’s basically the original CT Crunch. The key difference to me is the shape of the Churros cereal and how crunchy it is, instead of a fluffy air crisp churro. It was difficult at times to get good bites of cereal off the spoon because of the volume of the pieces. With this cereal, I think your jaw is going to get a workout to the point that it may get tiresome. However, if you have a big mouth then this might not be an issue. Overall, it’s a fun novelty cereal, but I think I’ll stick with regular Cinnamon Toast Crunch for the sake of my jaw (or Sugar Cookie Crunch during holiday season).   

Have you tried Cinnamon Toast Crunch Churros? If so, what was it about it that you enjoyed most? Thanks for stopping by the Cereal Aisle!

Leave a comment