Oops, is there drama with Llama Loops?

Hello everyone! Kayla here.  Otherwise known as Special KK. Coworker of Joe, fellow cereal lover/guest blogger and mom of two boys who eat a ridiculous amount of cereal.

In January, Joe breezed around my cubicle wall and gifted me with a box of Llama Loops. Might have been January of 2019. It’s all run together. In fairness, he didn’t give me a deadline.

Why is Lllama Loops the perfect cereal for me?

Because I have previous experiencing feeding an alpaca a carrot with my mouth.

Also I love novelty. And llamas are way in right now. So review this pink sugary treat? No prob-llama.

Aesthetics

The box is rainbow colored perfection. The artwork is llamazing (yeah, I’m just getting started here) and the back is full of fun facts. Did you know llamas have three stomach compartments? You do now.

HOWEVER. The box promises “glittery sparkles.”

THERE ARE NO GLITTERY SPARKLES. And if you remember Joe’s Caticorn review, this is a false promise we have seen before from the cereal industry. I’m filing a complaint with Capt’n Crunch.

Also.  Another major missed opportunity. Why the heck isn’t it Llama Lloops?

Here’s what the cereal looks like. I borrowed this picture from the internet.

Because I originally took  my pictures for this review during the worst of the beginning of the COVID crash.  So I forgot to take a picture of it in the bowl.

Llawkward.

Snackability

If you need a sugar rush, a handful of Llama Loops alpacas a sugary punch.

When it comes to snacking, I like a cereal that boasts a variety of shapes and textures instead of something as uniform as Llama Loops.  So. Sort of llame. But not a major drawback.

Structural Integrity

When it comes to holding its own in milk, there’s no drama with Llama Loops. These little pink life preservers won’t get soggy on you. And they have a satisfying crunch.

Cereal Concept

If you llove llamas, don’t walk past the box. The product is fine. But that’s not what really matters here, right?  It will make you smile.  And we all need that right now.  Spit happens.  But not with cartoon llamas.

Flavor

This is essentially Apple Jacks, only with the label of indiscriminate “fruit” flavor as opposed to “berry” flavor (Caticorn) or “marshmallow” flavor (Peeps). In other words, we’ve seen this before. My llama didn’t raise a fool!  And while we’re on to you, Kellogg’s, we don’t care if you’re just changing the artificial flavor and the packaging. At least you’re giving us new and novel options, clever packaging and material for many blogs to come.


Final Thoughts

This box was fun wool it llasted. And while the cereal itself is pretty standard, it was still pretty tasty. If you’re into llamas, or if you know someone who is, let me know and alpaca this into your shopping cart. In times when it feels like the alpacalypse is around the corner, go ahead and let Llama Loops llight up your llife.

 

Leave a comment