KitKat as a cereal? Gimme a break…

General Mills brings us another cereal that I don’t know if anyone asked for, but perhaps dreamed about as a child?

I’m assuming most of us have enjoyed a KitKat before. Those sweet crispy wafters melded together by milk chocolate create one of my favorite candy bars, and apparently one of Kourtney Kardashian’s as well, although I don’t dissect mine and eat it in the most complicated way possible.

Now, General Mills has attempted to replicate one of our favorite candy bars in the form of cereal, minus the ease of breaking off just one bar at a time. But does it succeed, or is it just like all the other novelty chocolate cereals? Gimme a break. Gimme a break. Break me off a piece of that cereal review below.

Aesthetics

The thick, chocolatey squares look like rice chex on a human growth hormone. Or, perhaps a less pleasing description would be like large, dry dog food. As for the packaging, the bold KitKat font on top of that bright red branding only makes me hungry for an actual KitKat bar at 9:30 a.m., as I write this review. Hey, I’m an adult and make my own choices, and I can choose to eat candy for breakfast, no matter how unhealthy that may be. But I digress.

Snackability

Fine for a couple of pieces, but not something I could see myself snacking on while on a road trip. Also, the pieces are somewhat bulky, so smaller children may have trouble eating the square pieces dry, and even adults may struggle if they find themselves eating too many pieces of this cereal at once.

Structural Integrity

This is the category where this cereal really shines. In fact, I can’t recall the last cereal I gave a 4 spoon rating to for structural integrity. Due to the size and puffed-out shape of the cereal, I would have thought it would be soggy faster, but after 5+ minutes of soaking in milk, it still maintains a crunch. Even when I took the last bite in the bowl, the cereal still had some substance to it.

Flavor

If you have had other chocolate/cocoa cereals, you will know what to expect with KitKat cereal. For instance, you will get that same cocoa flavor and aftertaste you get from Cocoa Puffs, Cocoa Pebbles, Hershey Kisses cereal and those alike. It’s not something I can eat bowls upon bowls of, but if you have a hankering for chocolate cereal this will do. I will say the flavor definitely lessens as soon as you add milk to the bowl. 

Cereal Concept

Like looking at comic books from decades ago and then transforming them into movies, all anyone needs to do to generate an idea for a novelty cereal is a jaunt down the candy aisle of a store. “Hmm, Twing Bing cereal. Maybe that could be a thing?” or “Whatchamacallit? More like WhyNotCerealIt”

Final Thoughts

If you expect this to taste like a bowl of miniature KitKat bars, then you’ll be disappointed.

If you expected a chocolate-flavored cereal with a crisp crunch, like the satisfying break of a KitKat bar then that is more in alignment with what was executed.

Anyway you put it, whether it’s the traditional KitKat candy bar, or if it’s KitKat cereal, ice cream, or whatever else is in the pipeline, I think it’s safe to assume that what will forever resonate with us is the KitKat jingle.

 

Leave a comment