Silly Rabbit, Nesquik is for… Canadians?

Have you ever wondered what Canadian Cocoa Puffs would look like? Swap out the loopy coo-coo bird for a cartooony rabbit and you have Nesquik cereal. Although, Cocoa Puffs are sold in Canada, but I digress.

Nesquik cereal is no longer available in the United States, so our neighbors to the north get to enjoy it. As I continue the second part of my palette tour of Canadian cereals (see the last one on Tim Horton’s Timbits), we dig into Nestle cereal.

Aesthetics

Let’s first judge a book, or in this case a cereal, by its cover. The unmistakable Nesquik branding of the blue and yellow is instant nostalgia for me, thinking back to my youth when my sister would make glasses of chocolate milk with scoops of Nesquik powder and then leave the glasses strung around the house. Then there is my memory of mom making me what I called a “malt” when she would add a couple of scoops of Nequik powder with scoops of vanilla ice cream and milk and blend it all together with a hand mixer.

As for the cereal itself, the pieces are small round mounds of chocolate textured cereal, similar to what you’d come to expect if you have ever eaten Cocoa Puffs or any other similar chocolate cereal. The cereal box does advertise that the cereal will turn your milk into chocolate milk, and I will say it does a good job. I’m not one who typically drinks their cereal milk, but this did taste like Nesquik chocolate milk.

Snackability

Nesquik cereal is. a good size to snack on, but the chocolate flavor might limit how much you could snack on, unless you really, really like cocoa flavor. I will say that there is a nice, satisfying crunch with each piece.

Structural Integrity

Due to the small condensed nature of the cereal, the cereal maintains a crunch even after more than 15 minutes in milk. After about 10 minutes, the center was crunchy, but the outer layer of the cereal was beginning to soften, but there was a crunch nonetheless.

Cereal Concept

The concept is a little meh to me, especially since Cocoa Puffs seems to have far more brand power than Nesquik cereal, and is sold in a lot of places. I know there are other Nesquik cereals around that jazz up this version, so maybe that would help. In the end, it comes down to whether you prefer a friendly bipedal rabbit or an unhinged cracked-out cocoa-loving bird.

Flavor 

If you are a fan of chocolate/cocoa-based cereal then this is right up your alley. Although, it may not be as sweet as Cocoa Puffs, which I didn’t mind. Could I eat more than one bowl of Nesquik cereal in one sitting? Probably not, but as I mentioned previously, the fact that it does a nice job of flavoring the milk after all the cereal is eaten was an added bonus. If you ever made chocolate milk with Nesquik powder then you might be able to taste the words you’re reading.

Final Thoughts I’m not going coo-coo over Nesquik cereal. I think it does a fine job of being what it is: a chocolate-flavored cereal that may be a little more bland than Cocoa Puffs, and if that doesn’t describe Canada, I don’t know what does. (j/k Canada friends. We appreciate you, your kindness, hockey, lacrosse and maple syrup). Would I buy this cereal regularly? No, but I’m not a huge chocolate cereal fan. However, it doesn’t hurt to have something like this in your pantry’s cereal rotation when you need a little fix, or you want to go wild and mix it in with other cereal. PS: Do you know how hard it is to type the “quick” incorrectly because that’s how Nesquik uses it? I just had to go in and replace all the Nesquicks with Nesquiks. Good grief. 

Leave a comment